Twisted

On Monday night, after the tedium of producing and measuring swatches, I settled for what I thought might be the correct needle and pattern size for making myself that Lopi sweater (I can’t really tell yet, because there was no easy way for me to get the recommended gauge). I cast on 192 stitches for the body (I’m making the XL large version in 4mm and 5mm needles, when I usually wear M to L), joined in the round and managed to knit ten rows when I had a minute or two…

And noticed only today that my stitches were twisted to begin with, when I joined the round. How this went undetected I can’t really explain. But it made me smile that I had actually made a mistake I’ve kept reading about (“join in the round, being careful not to twist“) and have always thought was very easy to avoid. OK, it also hurt my pride a bit.

I’m taking this as an invitation to start again and try out knitting the body on two circular needles, a technique I intend to also use in order to knit the two sleeves at the same time.

I’ve also started reading The Knitter’s Life List,  thoroughly enjoying it so far (Knitter’s Review here).

10882307

4 thoughts on “Twisted

Leave a Reply

