One hundred grams of silk and merino

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetThere’s something about the Baktus scarf that makes it a pattern I often find myself compelled to knit. Something about that combination of garter stitch and sideways triangular construction that’s just satisfying for the soul. And that basic, easy-to-remember pattern just begs for experimentation. I’m especially fond of the lacy variation by Terhi Montonen, with which I’ve knitted one of my go-to accessories. And now I’ve added this striped, variegated, blue-red version to my growing collection. Whipped up with a mere 100g of Louisa Harding’s Grace silk and wool blend, and stretched quite a bit on the blocking mat, the thing drapes nicely around the neck and looks much more sophisticated than it actually is.

I know I’ll be making more. And adding a twist of my own, next time, probably.

3 thoughts on “One hundred grams of silk and merino

  1. […] I had a professional meeting in London yesterday, with a couple of hours to spare around Oxford Circus. So I planned to use my time visiting the surrounding yarn stores, and treat myself to special findings I might come across. I first went to the yarn department at John Lewis. Shopping for yarn at a department store might not sound very exotic or exciting, but the supply was substantial and the yarns on display quite… appealing. I tried hard to resist all those wonderful Rowan skeins, Debbie Bliss varieties, and Noro assortments. In the end, I bought 2 balls of Louisa Harding merino/silk blend, pour la beauté du geste you might say (and with the idea of making yet another lacy baktus kerchief). […]

Leave a Reply

