I went to London and all I got was…

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetI had a professional meeting in London yesterday, with a couple of hours to spare around Oxford Circus. So I planned to use my time visiting the surrounding yarn stores, and treat myself to special findings I might come across. I first went to the yarn department at John Lewis. Shopping for yarn at a department store might not sound very exotic or exciting, but the supply was substantial and the yarns on display quite… appealing. I tried hard to resist all those wonderful Rowan skeins, Debbie Bliss varieties, and Noro assortments. In the end, I bought 2 balls of Louisa Harding merino/silk blend, pour la beauté du geste you might say (and with the idea of making yet another lacy baktus kerchief).

You see, I wasn’t in a buying frenzy since I intended to have a look at the fancier stuff at a place I had heard of, called All the fun of the fair, off Carnaby Street, in Kingly Court. Alas! When I got there, the shop was nowhere to be found. A thorough(er) search on the web taught me the place did not exist anymore, having closed earlier this year. How’s that for lousy planning? (I’ve learnt since that other people have experienced the same frustration.)

It was getting late, and time for my meeting, which lasted for hours on end. So afterwards I only had time to hop on the last Eurostar to Paris, with just a few meters of blue merino and silk yarn in my bag.

Next time, I’m getting my revenge.

6 thoughts on “I went to London and all I got was…

  1. I did as well in march! Thx H, I feel less lonely now… Arf I remember the Millamia wool I should have buying! ouin!

Leave a Reply

