Show and tell (Riddari pride)

Processed with VSCOcam with h1 presetI am here to tell you it is possible.
I am here to tell you you don’t need fancy ambidextrous knitting skills to work a stranded color Icelandic yoke sweater. You just need patience. You just need confidence. You can pick and drop yarns as needed, no one will notice, no one will bother. Just pay attention to being consistent in the way you position your yarns over or under each other (you know, for color dominance purposes). And above all, keep those floats loose.
I am here to tell you the Riddari pattern is a little marvel when it comes to lopapeysa designs, and that though Léttlopi yarn has quite a rough and scratchy feel between your fingers, it makes a wonderful fabric once washed and worn, and really feels like the right stuff for this kind of sweater. And if I can stand the touch of those sleeves on my bare arms then I assure you, so can you. Assuming, of course, you’re not allergic to wool. And not one of those extreme “Princess-and-the-pea” yarn snobs that recoil from the idea of wearing “rustic” wools (and even then, you should give it a try — ask me how I know.)
I am here to tell you that sometimes a pattern states you need 4mm needles and a size M to obtain a sweater that fits you, but the swatch says otherwise, suggesting you should try 5mm needles and knitting an XL version. Have faith in the swatch, have faith in the math. Have faith and knit.
They say you should graft those underarm stitches with Kitchener stitch in order to respect the seamlessness of the sweater. I am here to tell you a three-needle bind off does a very acceptable, sturdy and good-looking job.
I am here to tell you to wear your Riddari like the proud knight you are.

worsted140214b

Oh. I am here also to show off my recent knitting-related splurges…

worsted140214c

Knitpro’s “Box of Joy”, a limited edition set of interchangeable Karbonz circulars (which I love, love, love!!!)
And things I’ve bought at the “Aiguilles en Fête” craft fair in Paris last week:
– Noro silk garden (stashing for a future Pop blanket project), Madelinetosh DK (because the color was gorgeous) and Drops lace and worsted yarn (because I haven’t tried out yet what looks like cheap great quality yarn);
– HiyaHiya sock needles (nudge nudge, wink wink);
– a vintage Kaffe Fassett book (grabbed for a measly 3€!!!);
– and a charming little froggie that’s been fittingly made into a stitch marker.

10 thoughts on “Show and tell (Riddari pride)

  1. Beautiful sweater! I just picked up so Karbonz needles and am excited to use them. Congratulations on the Kaffe Fassett book, it is wonderful and inspiring.

  2. Awesome work you’ve done! Love your blog, great work, great photos, great writing. (Aye, I too have collected many a used Fassett book … too many ! )

    1. Thank you Jen! One can never have too many Kaffe Fassett books in my book 😉 Undoable extravagant projects, but great great inspiration 😉

      1. Well, yes, for me, just to have a personal Library Of Inspiration is important, and along with Kaffe Fassett, there’s many Alice Starmore, and a few other Rowan classics.Projects are for me undoable too, but inspiration of how far one can design and dream >> very doable 🙂

Leave a Reply

